My hipster dilemma – part 3

Thursday, November 27, 2008

An artist's rendition of my hipster dilemma.

An artist's rendition of my hipster dilemma.

Things are starting to get weird. I’ve been waking up at 8:30 to be at work at 10 am every week day — an oddity since my natural waking time is between the hours of 2 and 4 pm — working all day every Saturday and Sunday nights. Well, OK. I usually wake up at 9:30 and get to my day job at 10:30, but nobody cares… hopefully. AND, I can wear whatever the hell I want (read: NOT corporate attire).

This workforce regularity seems to suggest I am falling away from hipsterdom. If one were to examine this piece of evidence alone, it would be reasonable to predict that, within the month, I will be going to the opera and learning to cook. However, an expert researcher and blogumentary maker such as myself always looks at the larger picture, which is best illustrated by this g-talk conversation between my good friend Howard Duesterberg and myself..

Howard: we really dropped the ball on SHDL!
Lola: seriously. it’s sad.
I’ll pick it back up in the spring or something
(pause)
Lola: I don’t know, I’m having an existential crisis.
Howard: yeah, well
Lola: Howard?
Howard: yesss
?
Lola: i am wearing….
SKINNY JEANS
Howard: LOL
I AM TOO
Lola: it’s only the second time
Howard: I KNOW
Lola: my roommate (who is a guy) left them behind when he moved to LA
Howard: ha
haha
Lola: they are from the Junior miss section
Howard:at least they’re levis 511 and not AA
Lola: yeah mine are Levis skinny
Howard: they’re nice jeans
i like the denim
Lola: yeah i dig
but UGH
Howard: but
yeah
haha
Lola: i never thought I would wear skinny jeans
Howard: same.
LOL
I love how there was a 1:1 inverse correlation
between our hipsterness
and how much we posted.
As we got hipper, we got lazier.
Lola: Howard.
You only posted once.

Howard’s hipsterness was never in question, though he will argue endlessly to the contrary. But me? Being on the fence isn’t comfortable and it never was (See image 1). But now it’s just awkward. My societal obligations are pulling me toward something reminiscent of yuppiedom, while some unseen force is pulling me back, as if to compensate. It’s not just the jeans, either.

I scoffed at someone the other day for not knowing who The Ting Tings are. I finally got my stuff shipped from my home town and realized my wardrobe is 70 percent thrift store items and hand-me-downs and 20 percent childhood t-shirts that may or may not be ironic; the things I bought from actual retail stores (the remaining 10 percent) are from the Urban Outfitters annual sidewalk sale or converse sneakers. Most incriminatingly, I had a fling with the lead singer of a hipster band — who i met at Union Pool. (PS: If you’re reading this, sorry! I know you don’t think you or your band is “hipster” but, well, you are and it is.)

Maybe the reason why I haven’t been posting lately is because this blog is a reminder that Williamsburg will inevitably and unavoidably draw the innate hipsterdom out of oneself, regardless of how deeply it is buried, and that maybe I am helpless to resist it. (Note: This excludes the middle-aged West Europeans who are apparently flocking here.)

I’ve been living here for four-and-a-half months, and I’m starting to think: Maybe it’s time to move to Manhattan.

Too bad I just faxed the lease forms to the landlord of the apartment I’ve been subletting for the past 2 months.

7 Responses to “My hipster dilemma – part 3”

  1. whatswrongwithhipsters? said

    And Lola’s back woooo. Finally you posted glad your still doing it. Anywho I have a hipster quest for your maybe is/maybe isn’t hipster ass. How do hipsters do thanksgiving?

    forever yours

    whatswrongwithhipsters?

  2. The job thing will kill hipsterdom every time. First it’s a matter of working a job that doesn’t involve “groovy retail” for minimum wage and as many books/clothes/toys you can steal. Then it’s a matter of buying groceries instead of going down to the local soup kitchen to bathe in the irony. Next thing you’ll know, you’ll actually have a savings account and dependable transportation you bought yourself, and you’ll be living in a decent apartment instead of a shitty squat turned “artist’s haven”.

    True, that means that you’ll still be working when your hipster buddies all move back home and “wait out the recession” by watching Thundercats DVDs all day, but them’s the breaks. At least you’ll be living an economic dream that doesn’t require the use of the words “trust fund,” “lottery ticket,” or “grow house” to make them happen.

  3. b4icu2 said

    i often wonder where i fit in. hence my query of hipster leading me to this blog, the consequence of my being called a hipster by a peer. i denied it of course. so i am mid twenties suburban transplant in the big city, cheap ‘artist apartment’ dweller with an occupation in construction. i might be missing something but i know im definitely not a yuppie or ‘young professional’ dude and i really dont like anything! sometimes i rhyme slow and sometimes i rhyme quick. i like your blog though. atleast for as long as i can read it on my helio on my way to work downtown on the L in the morning. maybe if you went to the store to buy stuff you liked that retailers sell you because they think youd like it, you wouldnt be in such a dilemma? except that retailers are selling ‘hipster style’ now and that in itself is ironic.

  4. Howard Duesterberg said

    Middle class West Europeans are probably worse than yuppies, insofar as they are what yuppies are trying to imitate. They’re the source of the problem.

    With their impeccable taste in wine, salaried jobs, cosmopolitan libraries, disingenuous erudition, and minimalist interior design sensibility, they are the idealized, unreachable form of American yuppiedom.

  5. skinny jeans weren't made for taking off before secks said

    Howard Duesterberg, Marry me in Massachusetts.

Leave a Reply

